Learning IFR Low Charts and Approach Plates

During my ground lesson this morning, Joe and I discussed some of the different things that are located on a low Instrument Flight Rules chart.  I am starting to understand how all of the Navigational aids work together to set yourself up for an approach, but I am not quite sure I am ready to hop in the airplane and shoot an approach.  However, I do have the luxury of the flight simulator which has a feature that allows you to freeze the entire situation and discuss/brief what events are to come next and what I should be doing typically when entering an approach to land.  Joe and I briefed the Flying Cloud KFCM VOR approach for runway 10R and I got a basic understanding of what I am looking for, and when I should consider what the minimums actually are based on whether I am using the VOR and DME, or just the VOR. (I will attach the approach chart so you get an understanding of what I was working with)  I am getting an information overload of useful things to remember and of course the FAR/AIM’s never seem to escape my mind.

20150918_230023

As we were flying the Simulator today, Joe gave me specific instructions on what altitudes, headings and how long I should be flying a specific heading which all came together to form a nice pattern that actually turned out much better than I expected.  I definitely need to keep my scanning habits up, because as I figured out today, the second you forget to check something it’s probably gonna be wrong.  In my case, I was worrying about my altitude as I accidentally descended almost 100 feet and after the fact I noticed I was off of my assigned heading by nearly 40 degrees!  Another thing that I think would help is to write every single bit of information I receive down so that I don’t forget any instructions or misinterpret something important like a heading.   Anyways, hopefully we get some better weather in the near future so I can finally do my checkout in the Cessna 172.  I am planning on flying up to Duluth International Airport sometime next week, so look forwards to some nice pictures!

Go to GlobalAir.com for tons of Aviation Related Items Varying from Airport Sales to a Resource Center.  <https://www.globalair.com/&gt;

Leave a Reply

