Instrument Basics and Flying the Sim

Now having my Private Pilot Certification under my belt, I understand that moving forwards with the Instrument Training is my next step, and I couldn’t be more excited!  I was given access by one of Inflight Pilot Training’s Manager to videos that were recorded from a previously hosted Instrument Ground School.  I am slowly working my way through the material, but it sure is a lot of new information and FAR/AIM’s that are tough to understand at times.  I’ve learned about the Basic Requirements to be ready for the Instrument Written and Practical Exams.  I also took many notes on how to stay current as an Instrument Rated Pilot which was a little confusing at first, but I now understand the specific Non-precision and precision approaches that must be performed within six calendar months.  Also discussed were the definitions and different types of weather such as IMC and what is required to operate an aircraft under an IFR flight plan.  After getting a basic understanding of IFR, it was straight into the dry specifics of the Part 61 and 91 Aeronautical Knowledge Study Area.  Knowing regulations isn’t just required for the certifications, they could very well save your life providing great incite on how to do something more efficiently/safely.  I am a big advocate for safety and maintaining professionalism as a pilot, so I will do my best to study everything carefully and retain the knowledge before I take the deemed “Hardest Written Test in of the all.”  I will blog about some of the specific things I am learning about in these ground training videos and post any questions I have towards the subject matter that may require an explanation or example.  Feel free to comment with any questions or advice towards things I could do to improve on my learning process or what you think overall.  Straying away from the Ground portion of my training, I stepped into the Cessna 172 Flight Simulator for the first time today and had a great time simulating flying in the soup!  My instructor ran me though the basics of how to work the Garmin 430 GPS, and explained each item briefly so I at least had a basic understanding of how a good scan should be performed and what to look for.  We did some timed turns and ran through a few climbs and descents.  I have to say that the most difficult part about it was making sure that each instrument is looked over, otherwise I found myself chasing the VSI needle up and down trying to figure out the trim settings because I lost or gained altitude.  I plan on getting into the simulator more often as it saves a lot of money during the Instrument Training and isn’t too much different from flying the actual airplane.  I’ll take a comfortable office chair over the 1970’s fabric seats any day, however the flying aspect verses sitting in a cramped cubicle, no way!  I have flown the Cessna 152 throughout my Private Pilot training to cut costs as I am not a Part 141 student and will be transitioning into the Cessna 172 tomorrow.  The difference between the two airplanes might seem minute, but there is a slight learning curve towards understanding the avionics and transitioning to higher V-speeds.  Let me know if there is anything critical to know at the beginning of my Instrument training or things you would like to see/hear in the future!

Pleasant Skies and Safe Landings for All.Simulator Garmin 430

Go to GlobalAir.com for tons of Aviation Related Items Varying from Airport Sales to a Resource Center.  <https://www.globalair.com/&gt;

Leave a Reply

